Crown of Creation, The Struggle-Tile!

Hello!

This week, I’ve been working on the background tile for our game. It will be the base for the entire game, so the most important part was to make it connect well when looped.

I’d never done this before, so it was a bit of a challenge, and I had to repeat progress quite often since I had trouble implementing it. I wished for there to be a tile add-on to Photoshop, but alas! I had to do it myself. An exciting challenge.

One of the first things I had to do was to remove irregularities. There were some of the crystals that had a much richer blue color compared to the other ones. When looping this, a pattern was created that was so out of place that the tile looked cheap.

crystal_tile

I began with sampling this asset that had been created by another artist from our group, and looped it several times with it’s unedited, rough edges to get a sense of if my sample would work or if it would create some odd pattern. I deemed this tile to be too repetitive, and made a tile with four versions of the original sample all rotated to a different angle than the other. This tile is shown in the next picture.

Looping this new tile looked much better, and me and my team decided that it looked good when looped. I then went forward making it loop smoothly.

I did this by having one tile centered, and looping it once at the top, and once at it’s side. On a separate layer, I started to paint how I wanted it to look when looped. When I was happy with how it looked, I cut out the parts that I’d painted on the non-centered tiles, and put in in the same spot but on the centered tile.

crystal_tilez

This is the finished product, and it was going to be used as a main color background beneath a gradient lighting layer. Although it’s definitely not perfect, I’m still satisfied with my work, since it’s my first time doing a loop from these kinds of disproportionate edges! πŸ™‚

If I were to add something to the tile to make it better, I would add more nuances to the crystal. Right now they are very flat, and the only way you could know they’re crystals is from recognizing the shapes as crystals. But the sampled asset I used for this tile is used frequently throughout the game, so I don’t think it’ll be an issue to the player.

The sad thing is that we’re not going to use it in the game unfortunately, which is a bit disappointing since I put so much effort to it, but I know that the background we’ll use in the game will look ten times more awesome! ⬛

2 thoughts on “Crown of Creation, The Struggle-Tile!

  1. Hey Julia! πŸ™‚ Your blog post was a blast to read! I really like your writing style. It’s colourful and you explain very clearly what you’ve done and how you did it. It’s also very interesting to know what kind of challenges you had while making the tile. I wasn’t making backgrounds for our game so this really gives a great view into the specifics of making textured tiles.
    You explain the motivation behind all your choices and fixes really well. The end result looks beautiful and it’s also interesting to hear your thoughts on how you would make it better.

    One sentence I’m not sure if I understood correctly was “I did this by having one tile centered, and looping it once at the top, and once at it’s side”. Did you mean that you put one copy of the tile on top and on the side of one, which was in the center?

    Overall a great post, can’t wait to see more of your work. Have a good one! πŸ™‚

    Kaarle

    Like

    1. Thank you for your feedback Kaarle! πŸ™‚

      Yeah you understood it correctly! The one in the “center” is the one that I add all changes to, and then I delete the two tiles around it so I have my one final tile left. Hope you understood now haha, a bit hard to explain without a picture. πŸ˜›

      Like

Leave a comment